West Fargo Exchange Club
News from the Club
Ashley BondersonStudents of the Year 2018STUDENTS OF THE YEAR HONORED
The West Fargo Exchange Club recognized the Students of the Year at its June 19th luncheon. Julie Ly of West Fargo High and Tejas Bajwa from Sheyenne High School were selected as the award recipients for their respective schools. Berlyn Salwey was also recognized for her selection as an A.C.E. Award Winner (Accepting the Challenge of Excellence). Salwey and Bajwa were also selected as District winners and will advance to compete for a scholarship at the National Convention. All will receive scholarship funds from the Club. Pictured here from left to right is Exchangite Tammy Askew, Berlyn Salwey, Julie Ly, Tejas Bajwa and Club President Dave Geske.

Ashley Bonderson (right) was chosen as the Student of the Year for the Community High School and was recognized at her commencement event.
Donation to the Rape and Abuse Crisis CenterCLUB DONATES TO THE RAPE & ABUSE CRISIS CENTER
On June 12th West Fargo Exchange Club members visited the offices of the Rape & Abuse Crisis Center to learn about the services they provide. The Club was also pleased to provide additional support and presented them with a donation of $5,500.

RACC provides crisis intervention, advocacy, counseling, and prevention education services for those impacted by domestic violence, sexual assault and child sexual abuse. Confidential services are provided to victims at no charge and are available to female and male children, adolescents, adults, and elders.
Retiring West Fargo Public Schools Superintendent Dr. David Flowers was presented with the Civic Excellence Award at the Club's Award Luncheon held on June 5th.

Dr. Flowers has lead the School District though a period of tremendous growth and expansion. A native of Kansas, he will continue to call West Fargo home and he intends to remain active in the community. As part of being the recipient of this award, he will serve as the Grand Marshal of the West Fest parade this September.
Mike Sylstad - Firefighter of the YearKyle Hinrichs - Police Dept. Employee of the YearFIRE AND POLICE DEPARTMENTS EMPLOYEE OF THE YEAR HONORED
Mike Sylstad was recognized as West Fargo's Firefighter of the Year and Kyle Hinrichs is the Police Department's Employee of the Year for 2018. Department Chiefs and Mayor Rich Mattern were on hand at the June 5th Awards Luncheon to present the winners with a plaque in recognition of their achievement.
The West Fargo Exchange Club joined with the Lake Agassiz Exchange Club in welcoming the National Exchange Club's President-Elect Scot Warren to the club's noon luncheon on May 1st. Accompanying Mr. Warren were NEC Region 10 Vice President Barbara Orr and Dakota Territory District Director Jan Bohling. Scot will assume the office of the presidency at the national convention this summer.